Idealism Without Illusion: U.S. Foreign Policy in the 1990s

More Views

Idealism Without Illusion: U.S. Foreign Policy in the 1990s

By George Weigel

In stock

Be the first to review this product

Details:

A vision of U.S. foreign policy in the 1990s, grappling with moral and political considerations.
$10.00

Details

A vision of U.S. foreign policy in the 1990s, grappling with moral and political considerations.

 

"In the tradition of John Courtney Murray and Reinhold Niebuhr, George Weigel has become one of the outstanding social critics of our time. This book of his presents a vision of American foreign policy for the 1990s which would reconcile the imperatives of Realpolitik with the moral fervor of the American culture." (Eugene V. Rostow, National Defense University)

"George Weigel brings scholarship, spiritual values, and wit to the work of thinking about American foreign policy in the post-Cold War world America has helped to make. He points to difficult problems and shows the way toward intelligent solutions. Above all, he reminds us that ideas and values--including religious values--count and that American leadership can work to change the world for the better." (Michael Barone, Reader's Digest)

"This book is important for two reasons. First, it offers unusually well-informed and astute commentaries on the contemporary international situation. It also serves as a brilliant example of careful moral reasoning at work." (Peter L. Berger, Boston University)

"Anytime George Weigel speaks, I listen. One of the keenest contemporary thinkers, he has penetrated to the heart of the issues involving America's role in the world." (Charles Colson, Prison Fellowship Ministries)

Additional Information

ISBN 0802807461 , 978-0802807465
Page Count 253
Publisher ISI Books
Year Published 1994
Book Excerpt N/A
SKU 1085

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.

Reviews

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register